This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Privacy PolicyOK!

Special News

Articles » WWE » WWE News »

List Of The WWE Universal Champions Of The All-Time

List Of The WWE Universal Champions Of The All-Time

Views: 21840 | Updated On: | By Jitu Jangir

Here is the full list of WWE Universal Champions of all time.

When the WWE Championship became exclusive to SmackDown LIVE following the WWE Brand Extension, Stephanie McMahon and Mick Foley created the Universal Championship as the flagship title of Monday Night Raw.

The Universal Title then switched to the blue brand with "The Fiend" Bray Wyatt's 2019 victory over Seth Rollins. t is one of WWE's top titles, alongside the WWE Championship on Raw and the NXT Championship on NXT.

As of December 20, 2022, there have been fourteen reigns between eight champions and two vacancies. Finn Bálor was the inaugural champion. Brock Lesnar holds the record for most reigns with three. Roman Reigns' ongoing second reign is the longest singular reign at 842+ days, while Bálor has the shortest reign at 22 hours as he was forced to vacate the title due to suffering a legitimate injury in winning it.

Reigns also holds the record for longest combined reign at 906+ days. Kevin Owens is the youngest champion when he won it at 32 years, 114 days old, while Goldberg is the oldest when he won the title for a second time at 53.

List Of WWE Universal Champions

No. Champion Championship change Reign statistics Notes
Date Event Location Reign Days Days recog.
WWE: Raw
1 Finn Bálor August 21, 2016 SummerSlam Brooklyn, NY 1 1 <1 The title was established for Raw after the WWE Championship became exclusive to SmackDown following the 2016 WWE Draft. Bálor defeated Seth Rollins in a pinfall and submission-only match to become the inaugural champion.
Vacated August 22, 2016 Raw Brooklyn, NY Vacated due to Finn Bálor suffering a legit shoulder injury during his match at SummerSlam.
2 Kevin Owens August 29, 2016 Raw Houston, TX 1 188 188 This was a fatal four-way elimination match for the vacant title also involving Big Cass, Roman Reigns, and Seth Rollins, who Owens last eliminated to win.
3 Goldberg March 5, 2017 Fastlane Milwaukee, WI 1 28 27
4 Brock Lesnar April 2, 2017 WrestleMania 33 Orlando, FL 1 504 503
5 Roman Reigns August 19, 2018 SummerSlam Brooklyn, NY 1 64 63
Vacated October 22, 2018 Raw Providence, RI Vacated after Roman Reigns announced that he had a legitimate re-diagnosis of leukemia.
6 Brock Lesnar November 2, 2018 Crown Jewel Riyadh, Saudi Arabia 2 156 156 Originally scheduled as a triple threat match in which Roman Reigns was to defend the title against Lesnar and Braun Strowman. After Reigns relinquished the championship, the match became a singles match between Lesnar and Strowman for the vacant title.
7 Seth Rollins April 7, 2019 WrestleMania 35 East Rutherford, NJ 1 98 98
8 Brock Lesnar July 14, 2019 Extreme Rules Philadelphia, PA 3 28 27 Cashed in his Money in the Bank contract.
9 Seth Rollins August 11, 2019 SummerSlam Toronto, ON, Canada 2 81 81
10 "The Fiend" Bray Wyatt October 31, 2019 Crown Jewel Riyadh, Saudi Arabia 1 119 119 This was a Falls Count Anywhere match that could not be stopped for any reason.
The title became exclusive to the SmackDown brand due to Wyatt's status as a SmackDown wrestler.
WWE: SmackDown
11 Goldberg February 27, 2020 Super ShowDown Riyadh, Saudi Arabia 2 27 or 28 37 WWE recognizes this reign as ending on April 4, 2020, when the following match aired on tape delay.
12 Braun Strowman March 25 or 26, 2020 WrestleMania 36
Part 1
Orlando, FL 1 150 or 151 141 WrestleMania was taped on March 25 and 26, but it is currently unknown which day this match was taped. WWE recognizes this reign as beginning on April 4, 2020, when the match aired on tape delay.
13 "The Fiend" Bray Wyatt August 23, 2020 SummerSlam Orlando, FL 2 7 6 This was a Falls Count Anywhere match.
14 Roman Reigns August 30, 2020 Payback Orlando, FL 2 841+ 841+ This was a No Holds Barred triple threat match also involving Braun Strowman, who Reigns pinned.
At WrestleMania 38 on April 3, 2022, Reigns defeated Raw's WWE Champion Brock Lesnar in a Winner Takes All match and became recognized as the Undisputed WWE Universal Champion. Despite the match being billed as a unification match, both titles remain independently active.

To stay updated with all the latest combat sports news, add to your Google News feeds and follow us on Twitter.




Write Your Comment Here

Max Comment Length: 100 Words; Please Don't Use Bad Language Otherwise your comment will be removed

Follow Us On Social Media: Sacnilk